Home > Canadian News, Ontario > Religion not wanted in Schools

Religion not wanted in Schools


Canadian News View:

It seems that this is the way the Toronto School Board is moving forward and it is a shame.  To look at it from a business point of view, they just lost revenue as there is little religious groups that have accounts full of money which they do not know how to spend it.  These groups, no matter Christian, Muslim, Hindu or others rely on donations from their parishioners and others to provide funding so that the congregation can survive and promote their message.

 

It is disappointing the way government bodies are now turning on groups such as this but it is an easy target.  What does this accomplish?  They were charging different amounts but let us take $900.00/month.  There are 100′s of schools within this school board and if we take 10% at offering the rent to organizations then we can speculate that there is 100 schools charging this each month.  This would total to $90,000.00/month.  Over 12 months this adds to $1,080,000.00 each year.  So instead of bringing in over $1,000,000.00 each year they are bringing in nothing or much less than that.  I guess they will actually need to look at a better way to cut back.  Let suggest cutting the bureaucracy because at least 50% of the budget should be going to maintain a safe environment for the students and keeping student materials up to date and supplies plentiful.  They really need to take a hard look at this to start moving in the right direction.

 

To add to this the non-profits have been grouped into different categories and the religious organizations have been removed as one that receives subsidizes.  I guess they are just too rich.  One can argue they are richer than the Ontario government but are we not all better than them.  I doubt the religious groups are in any position to absorb this.

 

Good job everyone.  And these people are the ones responsible for our children’s future?  How can we blame them when the philosophy is nobody fails.  This is why I use private school and work 2 jobs for it.

Originally posted on National Post | News:

Toronto churches may no longer be able to afford to hold congregations and events in public schools now that they are no longer listed as a charitable group by the Toronto District School Board.

Julian Freeman, a pastor at Grace Fellowship Church, will be one of many feeling the crunch. His small congregation of 70 people uses two kindergarten rooms and a small gymnasium every Sunday. Before the increase, the church was paying $990 a month for use of the facilities. The new rate is $4,100, a cost that is not feasible for Mr. Freeman.

[np-related /]

“At this point, it’s not an option for us to stay,” he said. “Over the next few weeks, we will look for a new place to meet while we petition the school board. At this point, we’re just eating up our bank account.”

Religious groups had previously been categorized as a subsidized group…

View original 277 more words

  1. {info|emas|seo|r1baca1|pesawat|promo|diskon|smile|hoax|berita|news|hot|sehat|social|media|blogs|tips|
    September 14, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    Great article, exactly what I wanted to find.

  2. September 18, 2012 at 3:22 am

    Howdy

    We live in Little Rock, Arkansas.

    Thank you for the interesting information at this website.

    I am currently carrying out a project at university and
    your written content here was really valuable.

    Religion not wanted in Schools Canadian News View is cool : )

    Sorry to the Webmaster as well as other folks on this web page regarding getting off the topic.

    We are providing a track-back with regards to your URL that ought to help your site get ranking by means of Google.

    Confucus Says: “I hear, I know. I see, I remember. I do, I understand.”

    Thanks!
    Lakesha Menser

  3. September 20, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you ever been blogging for? you made running a blog glance easy. The whole glance of your site is fantastic, let alone the content material!

  4. September 24, 2012 at 3:27 am

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words
    in your content seem to be running off the screen in Chrome.

    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post
    to let you know. The layout look great though! Hope you get the problem fixed soon.

    Thanks

  5. September 24, 2012 at 8:18 am

    So cool.

  6. September 24, 2012 at 11:11 am

    I was recommended this web site through my cousin. I’m not sure whether this submit is written through him as no one else know such detailed about my problem. You’re amazing! Thank you!

  7. September 25, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely fantastic.
    I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is really a tremendous web site.

  8. September 29, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    I feel your annoyance. I never had any luck with this kind of stuff, either.
    So glad to know I’m not by myself!

  9. September 29, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    Thanks for this publish. I find it a pain to get very good content out there when it comes to this
    blog posts. I appreciate the blog post!

  10. October 6, 2012 at 3:03 am

    I don’t even know how I ended up right here, however I assumed this submit was once great. I don’t recognize who you’re however definitely you’re going to a famous blogger in the event you aren’t already ;) Cheers!

  11. October 10, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    Great beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your web
    site, how can i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny
    bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

  12. October 11, 2012 at 6:08 am

    It’s in point of fact a great and helpful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you simply shared this useful info with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  13. October 11, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels.
    I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  14. October 29, 2012 at 7:21 am

    This is certainly among the most appealing websites I have seen.
    It’s so easy to assume you’ve seen it all, but there’s honestly some good things on the net, and I believe your website is truly on the list!

  15. March 2, 2013 at 12:43 am

    I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else encountering problems with your website. It appears like some of the written text on your posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This might be a problem with my browser because I’ve had this
    happen previously. Appreciate it

  1. September 24, 2012 at 8:49 am
  2. October 14, 2012 at 6:52 pm
  3. April 9, 2013 at 10:44 pm

Leave a Reply

restaurantbastards

Let me tell you what I'm really thinking

China Daily Mail

News and Opinions From Inside China

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

